• Dr.Jeevan.E.P

Know about Ayurveda


The traditional Health knowledge of Land of Vedas: India.

“ Hitahitam Sukham Dukham Ayusstasya Hitahitam

Manam cha Tacha Yatra Uktam Ayurveda Sa Ucyate”

Ayurveda is the mother of medical system dates backs to more than 5000 years.

The word AYUR literally means life and VEDA, the knowledge. Ayurveda briefly explains the knowledge of the do´s and dont´s one has to follow, which favours the well being of each individual to lead a healthy, happy, comfortable life physically, mentally, emotionally and socially. Ayurveda not only explains the curative aspects of diseases but also the prevention of diseases.


There are four Vedas or treatises, which form the basis of Indian Philosophy.

They are:





Ayurveda has emerged out as the branch of Atharva Veda dates back over five thousand years. It is said to have been originated from LORD BRAHMA (Generator of the universe according to India Philosophy), and has ben descended to earth through various generations of GODS and SAINTS. This has been handed down to us by means of ancient venerable scripts as palm leaf books, leather leaves etc.

The oldest works in Ayurveda now available are:




Ayurveda is also known as ASHTANGA VEDA (the word literally means “Eight branches of knowledge”) as it is divided into eight specialities of Ayurvedic Medicine. They are follows:

1. Kaya Chikitsa - General medicine

2. Kaumara Bhrithya - Paediatrics or Service to the children

3. Graha Chikitsa - Psychiatry and Psycho Somatic diseases.

4. Salakya Tantra - Technique of curing Eye, Ear, Nose, Head, Throat,

Mouth and Teeth both medically and surgically.

5. Salya Tantra - Technique of surgical treatments.

6. Agada Tantra - Techinque of curing poisons or Toxicology.

7. Rasayana Tantra - Technique of Rejuvenation.

8. Vajeekarana Tantra - Technique of making horse power both physically and

Mentally or Aphrodisiac.

According to Ayurveda every living and non-living being in this universe is a combination of five basic eternal elements, called Pancha Mah a Bhuthas. Human body is also constituted by these five eternal elements in various compositions. Hence it can be conceived that every cell of body is possessed with all the properties of life. The only difference of Human body from the external world is the expression of CHAITANYA or consciousness or life or spirit or soul. To understand Nature or World, it is better to understand ourselves. The operating instructions or Manuel about that is AYURVEDA

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All