• Dr.Jeevan.E.P

Diagnosis in Ayurveda

Pareeksha (Diagnosis in Ayurveda)

There are three main methods in Ayurveda for diagnosing the Dosha imbalances and diseases process in a person. They are:


By observing the patients physical signs and symptoms, eg: the size of the person, colour changes in the eyes, skin and tongue etc are included in this category.


This is an ayurvedic way of questioning about the total health problems happened in the whole life, surgical and medical interventions, family , occupational and social background etc are included.


Nadi Pareeksha (Pulse diagnosis) to find out the Prakruti (constitution) and Vikruthi (imbalances), temperature differences in the bodily parts, Marma points, Palpation of vaoius organs etc are considered in this section.

There are two specific diagnostic procedures that can be in the above division. Each area should be explored and a total understanding of the person and diseases should be reached after the whole points. It is important to converge all the ideas into the Dosha-Dhathi-Mala level instead of diverging and naming each symptom as a disease.

The major steps are:

1. ASHTA STHANA PAREEKSHA (Eight steps in Diagnosis)

  1. Pulse diagnosis ( Nadi)

  2. Urine diagnosis (Mutra)

  3. Stool diagnosis (Mala)

  4. Tongue diagnosis (Jihwa)

  5. Character of the voice (Sabda)

  6. Temperature of the body (Sparsa)

  7. Diagnosis of the eyes (Drik)

  8. Examination of the physique (Akruti)

2. DASA VIDHA PAREEKSHA (Ten steps in Diagnosis)

  1. Symptoms and signs of Dosha-Dhathu-Mala imbalances (Dushyam)

  2. Place of disease and the place of the patient (Desam)

  3. Strength of the disease and Patient (Balam)

  4. Time factor to the disease (Kalam)

  5. Digestive capacity (Agni)

  6. Constitution of the Patient (Prakruti)

  7. Age of the disease and patient (Vaya)

  8. Mental strength of the Patient (Satwam)

  9. Accustoms of the patient (Satmyam)

  10. Disease condition (Avastha)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All